The Monday travel song: Et moi, et moi, et moi by Jacques Dutronc

I propose to start every new week with a song that takes us somewhere in the world.

This week, my Monday morning playlist takes us to France back in the sixties with Et moi, et moi, et moi (and I, and I, and I)  by Jacques Dutronc.

Released in 1966, this song, deliciously outdated with its numbers, delivers a still very sharp criticism of the Western world’s hypocrite view of what used to be named the ‘Third World’, with lyrics that keep trying to be conscious of the rest of the world but remain egoistically self-centred at all times.

Its author, Jacques Dutronc, is a French singer-songwriter, sort of posh hipster punk of the older times – a macho alcoholist, and a musical genius.

An overview of the lyrics:

Quatre-vingt millions d’Indonésiens
Et moi, et moi, et moi
Avec ma voiture et mon chien
Son Canigou quand il aboie
J’y pense et puis j’oublie
C’est la vie, c’est la vie

(…)

Trois ou quatre cent millions de noirs
Et moi, et moi, et moi
Qui vais au brunissoir
Au sauna pour perdre du poids
J’y pense et puis j’oublie
C’est la vie, c’est la vie

(…)

Neuf cent millions de crève-la-faim
Et moi, et moi, et moi
Avec mon régime végétarien
Et tout le wisky que je m’envoie
J’y pense et puis j’oublie
C’est la vie, c’est la vie

And a translation into English:

Eighty millions Indonesians
And I, and I, and I
With my car and my dog
His Chappie when he barks
I think about it then I forget
That’s life, that’s life

(…)

Three or four hundreds million Black people
And I, and I, and I
Going to the tanning booth,
To the sauna to lose weight
I think about it then I forget
That’s life, that’s life

(…)

Nine hundreds million dying of hunger
And I, and I, and I
With my vegetarian diet
And all the whisky I am boozing,
I think about it then I forget
That’s life, that’s life

Have a great week!

This post is part of a weekly event called The Monday Travel song. You can participate, too, by doing the following:

  • Create your own post every Monday and title it The Monday travel song: xxx by xxx
  • Include a link to a song (YouTube link or other)
  • It must be a song which is linked to a geography. For example, a Russian song, a Chinese song, a Scottish song… (it can be from your own country every now and then, but remember the purpose is to get others to virtually travel!)
  • Your post doesn’t have to be long, but do tell us a little bit about the song… for example by telling about the lyrics, about the composer, about the style…
  • Include a link to my own Monday travel song in your post tag it “Monday-travel-song” so others can find it too
Leave a Reply

