Travel theme: walking in the Serbian mountains, a feeling of Independence

This week, Ailsa‘s photo challenge theme is Independence. Quoting Ailsa’s words:

I’ve been thinking about what independence means to me. Yes, it means freedom and liberty, but there’s something more too. Self-reliance perhaps (…)

I have resisted the temptation to focus this post on the Juche Tower of North Korea (Juche is the regime’s official ideology and means self-reliance) to talk about something less political, for a change!

So I will stick to the freedom and self-reliance in a more romantic, humanist way. And to me, this is about walking. Using your two feet, and travelling the world.

Not relying on a plane, or a car, or any device with an engine; not even relying on a bicycle or anything mechanical. Just you and your two feet. This is true freedom.

I have deeply experienced this feeling last year when I explored some wonderful areas of Serbia, and here is a photo of me savouring the sensation.

Serbia 160 - Kopaonik

Just me, my two feet; and a mini-tripod and a camera. Independence!

This photo was taken close to Nebeske Stolice (Heaven’s Chairs), the ruins of the highest Orthodox church in the Balkans (about 2000 meters high). It is situated in the Kopaonik area, South of Serbia. I was there in August 2014.

4 thoughts on “Travel theme: walking in the Serbian mountains, a feeling of Independence

Leave a Reply

