The Monday travel song: Пусть бегут неуклюже (Russian birthday song)

I propose to start every new week with a song that takes us somewhere in the world.

This week, my Monday morning playlist takes us to Russia, and also back in time, with an extract of ultra-popular cartoon from 1971 Чебурашка (Cheburashka): the birthday song Пусть бегут неуклюже.

Why this choice?

  • because it was my birthday yesterday,
  • because I like to play the accordion,
  • because I love the Russian language,
  • because I adore how Russians can express joy on such melancholic tones!

I played and sang this to myself yesterday. An overview of the lyrics:

Пусть бегут неуклюже
Пешеходы по лужам,
А вода – по асфальту рекой.
И неясно прохожим
В этот день непогожий,
Почему я веселый такой.

Я играю на гармошке
У прохожих на виду…
К сожаленью, день рожденья
Только раз в году.
К сожаленью, день рожденья
Только раз в году.

Here is an interesting translation and cover into English language, featuring the cartoon’s protagonist Cheburashka:

Let pedestrians stumble
Through the rain into puddles,
And the water in rivers run by,
And the passers-by wonder
How on earth in this weather
One can stand here
As cheerful as I.

But I’ll play on my accordion
Well in sight of those passing near.
How unlucky that our birthdays
Come only once per year!

How unlucky that our birthdays
Come only once per year!

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “The Monday travel song: Пусть бегут неуклюже (Russian birthday song)

Leave a Reply

