Travel theme: a tangle of war weapons recycled for peace in the Balkans

This week, Ailsa‘s photo challenge theme is Tangle.

I have to admit that I had to look for that word’s meaning on a dictionary; but as soon as I found the French translation enchevêtrement, I knew which of my photos I was going to showcase this week.

205 - Balkan - Podgorica

The Bird of Peace is a sculpture made by artists from all over ex-Yugoslavia, recycling weapons that were voluntarily handed in by the local population after the war ended. It can be seen in Podgorica, capital of Montenegro.

204 - Balkan - Podgorica
The Bird of Peace.

You can rest and admire the sculpture sitting on a bench also made of weapons.

206 - Balkan - Podgorica
More tangle of war weapons.
207 - Balkan - Podgorica
Me sitting on the weapon bench.

I took these photos during a road trip in the Balkans that took me to Montenegro in May 2011.

 

2 thoughts on “Travel theme: a tangle of war weapons recycled for peace in the Balkans

Leave a Reply

