The Monday travel song: Super Good by Leningrad

I propose to start every new week with a song that takes us somewhere in the world.

This week, my Monday morning playlist takes us to Russia with Super Good by Leningrad.

Fascinated by this band for a while now, I have been lucky enough to see them live last Saturday at a gig in London, hence this choice for today. Wikipedia describes them as a ska-punk band well-known for excessive use of vulgar and obscene argot and a celebration of alcoholism.

Super Good is their iconic song, a sort of satirical and hysterical celebration of how “super good” life is, here in Russia. An overview of the lyrics for you to get an idea:

Друзья все валят за границу
А я наверно остаюсь
Смеюсь напьюсь если х..во
Жрать будет нечего женюсь
Друзья все пишут как ты тут
А я нормально , супер гуд

Супер супер супер гуд
Я нормально супер гуд
Супер супер супер гуд
Все отлично супер гуд

Translation:

My friends are all fleeing the country
But apparently I am staying
I’ll be drinking, laughing, if I feel down
If I starve, I’ll find a wife
Friends write to me, how are you there
I’m OK, super good

Super super super good
I’m OK, super good
Super super super good
It’s all excellent, super good

Have a great week!

One thought on “The Monday travel song: Super Good by Leningrad

Leave a Reply

