The Monday travel song: Chanchullo by Ruben Gonzalez

I propose to start every new week with a song that takes us somewhere in the world.

This week, my Monday morning playlist takes us to Cuba with Ruben Gonzalez playing the piano in Chanchullo.

Ruben Gonzalez, one of the greatest pianists of Cuba in the twentiest century, acquired international fame amongst others with his participation in Buena Vista Social Club, a Cuban club that needs no introduction. The reason why I have picked this song is a celebration: this weekend I have booked my flights to Cuba, where I will travel later this year.

I made this decision a few months ago, when the Obama administration started to normalise its relations with Cuba – I felt the urgency to finally visit Cuba, before it becomes a playground for the rich ethnocentric American youth at spring break.

¡Viva Cuba!, and ¡Have a great week!

One thought on “The Monday travel song: Chanchullo by Ruben Gonzalez

Leave a Reply

