The Friday photo – Aral, the receding sea

To finish every week travel-inspired, I tell you every Friday about one of the photos of my blog’s header.

cropped-uzbekistan-176-aral-sea.jpg

This week, I’ve selected a photo taken in September 2012 in Uzbekistan. It is a close-up of the dry Aral sea.

Moynaq used to be a fishermen’s town, but nowadays it is a 8 hour Jeep journey from there to reach the sea side, crossing desert landscape like the one you see on the photo. Looking at this desert landscape knowing that this used to be a sea makes me rather speechless.

Decades of human abuse have caused this phenomenon, and I don’t like it – but I love that I travelled all the way there to take photos and share them as a testimony.

Interested in Uzbekistan stories? Click on my Uzbekistan tag, or find out why Uzbekistan is in my top 3 best places to travel in the world!

3 thoughts on “The Friday photo – Aral, the receding sea

Leave a Reply

