The Friday photo – Rehearsal of a spontaneous celebration in North Korea

To finish every week travel-inspired, I tell you every Friday about one of the photos of my blog’s header.

cropped-north-korea-1.jpg

This week, I’ve selected a photo taken in October 2014 in North Korea. It shows dancers in front of the Kims portraits on the Kim Il-Sung square in Pyongyang.

We were walking in the city centre on a sunny Sunday afternoon, when the streets suddenly became invaded by the population getting ready to welcome the national juniors’ football team victoriously returning from an overseas competition.

Thousands of North Koreans spent the whole afternoon rehearsing the dances, performances, and applause they would spontaneously offer to their young champions.

I love this photo because only in North Korea can thousands spend a whole day rehearsing a spontaneous celebration; and I let you imagine how many shots it took me to spontaneously get this one right.

Interested in North Korea stories? Click on my North Korea tag, read about my general impressions about North Korea, find out what incredible characters my guides were in North Korea, learn how to become a good North Korean guide yourself, and maybe read about why football is sometimes a little bit like North Korea!

Leave a Reply

