The Monday travel song: Undestructible by Gogol Bordello

I propose to start every new week with a song that takes us somewhere in the world.

For this week, I have selected Undestructible by Gogol Bordello. I have been pretty obsessed with this song lately: it’s been on the top of my morning wake-up playlist for a while, I’ve been listening to it also in my car, and I’ve been entertaining myself playing the accordion on it.

Gogol Bordello is a Gypsy Punk band from New York. According to Wikipedia, “the band was originally titled Hütz and the Béla Bartóks, but Eugene Hütz (the Ukrainian main singer) says that they decided to change the name because “nobody knows who the hell Béla Bartók is in the United States”.”

I love Undestructible because

  • I love the build up and climax – every time I listen to this song, I am literally hooked until the end
  • a lot of strength emanates from it
  • the last chorus is in Russian language
  • the accordion plays a key role in the melody, and it is simple enough so I can have fun playing along
  • the song’s title has a spelling error that can’t be a mistake – disobedience beyond expectations!

A quick glance at part of the lyrics:

This is my life and freedom’s my profession
This is my mission throughout all flight duration
There is a core and it’s hardcore
All is hardcore when made with love
The love is a voice of a savage soul
This savage love is undestructable

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

