The Friday photo – Stock up your Belarussian vodka

To finish every week travel-inspired, I tell you every Friday about one of the photos of my blog’s header.

cropped-dscn0734.jpg

This week, I’ve selected a photo taken in November 2014 in Belarus. It is a close-up of the vodka shelf in a supermarket.

Given I am coming to the end of an utmost boring Dry-athlon, which consists of not drinking any alcohol during the month of January, I am becoming increasingly thirsty. Wondering which of my stocked up vodka bottles I would open first to celebrate the end of the challenge reminded me of this photo.

I love this photo for the grotesquely huge amount of choice there is amongst the vodka brands, in a still-quite-Sovietic country where there are hardly any brands of the most basic stuff.

Interested in Belarus stories? Click on my Belarus tag, read about Lenin statues in Belarus and elsewhere, or find out why a concert of Goran Bregovic in Belarus is super bizarre!

Leave a Reply

